Crazy Cat Lady goes to Cat Cafe Manila

I’ve been a cat lover ever since I was a kid. I remember my first cat Muning, a puspin that was given to me by my neighbor. Since then, I’ve became closer to felines. I’ve adopted several abandoned cats and rescued one before. I was bullied by an elementary classmate while protecting a one-eyed stray cat in our school. My first friend at college was a stray cat at UST carpark. So whenever I see strays, I give them whatever food that they could munch on. Some people find me weird, but they really make me happy.
 
Because I waste my time scrolling on my News Feed so much, I immediately saw a post regarding a Cat Cafe that is opening their doors this weekend for their soft opening. I was lucky enough to have a ticket reservation at the first day at the first hour of their soft opening last April 11, 2015, 12nn to 1pm.

Rae and I arrived the place at 11:30am, and since we arrived too early, the staff allowed us to enter the cafè first. We signed a cat waiver and took our shoes off. Ate Cat welcomed us warmly and showed us their amazing place. We were the first ones to come at their soft opening!

They have amazing interiors! They have cat hammocks, wheel, bridges, cat trees, house, water fountain and toys. The litter boxes were placed under the cabinets for cats to have a private poopy session and to avoid disturbance. The colors violet and brown gave a homey vibe. A cat lady must-haves!

What makes Cat Café Manila so special is that the cats here are rescued cats from CARA. I love all kinds of cats.. but the Pusang Pinoy or the puspins are very special, especially the rescued ones. The cats here are adoptable, but according to them adoption will start after two months prior to their soft opening.

Bicco, the big furball of energy, was the first one to approach us. We played and ran around the table. Chaka, the noisy fluff, went to Rae and asked him for a pat while he’s also eating. Trigger, the sleepyhead, was dozing most of the noon.

Super hyper Bicco

Chaka

Sleepy kitty.

The other cats were sleeping peacefully at their soft cat bed. Some are hiding inside the cabinets like MamaCat, the huge cat that used to foster rescued kittens at CARA, and Oreo, which has black and white fur like Oreos. The staff tried to let them go outside to play by using chicken as a bait, MamaCat did! But only for a second, then went back inside the cabinet again.

MamaCat hiding inside the cabinet.

Oreo hiding

We also met the store owners and gave them 5 stars as a feedback. Haha! I loved the place so much.

They also sell cat merchandise like stuffed toys, bags and a Crazy Cat Lady Mug. “I Could Pee on This: And Other Poems by Cats” by Francesco Marciuliano and “ How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You” by Oatmeal books are also available at their shop.

One hour was not enough. I want to spend more time with them. So I will recommend this place and go back here next time with my fellow cat friends!

Facebook Page: Cat Cafe Manila
Visit them at 2nd Floor, 189 Maginhawa, Diliman, Lungsod Quezon, 1101 Kalakhang Manila, Philippines.
Entry is P200 for one hour. The P100 is consumable with drinks and sweets.

Adopt, don’t shop.     

2 thoughts on “Crazy Cat Lady goes to Cat Cafe Manila

Leave a Reply

